Dr. Steinman was the recipient of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine in 2010, the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research in 2009 and the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award in 2007. He received the Debrecen Prize in Molecular Medicine in 2006, the New York City Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Science and Technology in 2004, the Novartis Prize in Immunology in 2004 and the Gairdner Foundation International Award in 2003. He was a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.