Lupus Autoimmunity, Mechanisms and Immune Regulation

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) is a unique and complex autoimmune syndrome affecting a variety of tissues and organ systems. The origins of SLE remain largely unexplained although elements of both innate and adaptive immune responses influence the initiation and perpetuation of disease. Moreover, environmental factors combined with both gender and individual genetics play important roles in the disease processes. This two-day symposium will highlight a broad array of topics in the field of lupus autoimmunity, including both basic molecular mechanisms as well as studies in applied immunotherapies in the treatment of disease. In particular, cutting-edge studies will be presented in the fields of B and T lymphocyte-mediated autoimmune pathways, antigen presentation, Toll-like receptor/innate immunobiology, genetic predisposition in lupus, and novel approaches to lupus immunotherapies. The meeting organization is designed to encourage dialog between the many disciplines and expertise of investigators represented at this lupus conference. Finally, the conference will also highlight a series of oral presentations submitted by junior investigators in the field of lupus autoimmunity.

Submit an abstract for poster presentation and save $50 on the registration fee! The $50 discount will be applied to your registration after your abstract is received by BioSymposia. TEN travel awards are being offered to junior investigators in the amount of $500 each. In addition, award winners will have their registration fee waived.

Attendees who wish to be considered for one of ten BioSymposia Young Investigator Travel Awards must submit an abstract for poster presentation. Young investigators working for commercial entities (pharmaceutical, biotechnology, device manufacturers) or affiliated with the institution of the scientific committee are not eligible to receive travel awards but will be considered for recognition. The deadline for abstract submission is August 8, 2008. Ten travel awards will be awarded to the lead authors of the best abstracts submitted as adjudicated by an expert panel.